Showing posts with label belmore. Show all posts
Showing posts with label belmore. Show all posts

Monday, November 1, 2021

CRITERION HOTEL

 

The Criterion Hotel, corner of Herbert and Belmore Streets, Gulgong
Robert Stewart and his wife Susannah Stewart, (nee Seabrook), Mary Anne Reed and her husband William Reed pictured.
Source: William Seabrook

In 1871, J Thompson was licensee of the Criterion Hotel on the corner of Belmore and Herbert streets, Gulgong.

In 1872, the Criterion Hotel had a new licensee in William Reed, who married the widow Mary Ann Seabrook. Family members continued as licensees until close in 1882. The Seabrook daughters of Mrs Reed took turns as licensee until they were married.

  • William Reed 1872-73
  • Anne Maria Seabrook 1873-75
  • Eliza Seabrook 1876-77
  • Susan Stewart 1877-79
  • James Morton Crawford 1879-82 until closure.

In 1877 the hotel passed into the hands of widow Susan Stewart (nee Seabrook) until her marriage to Jens Morten Jansen Koeford, who Anglicised his Danish name to James Crawford. James became the last publican. After it was de-licensed, the Criterion Hotel became the residence of the family and their descendants.

Criterion Hotel (on left), 1872
Detail: Looking south along Herbert Street from Belmore Street, Gulgong

Eastern side, foreground - Criterion & Belmore Hotels; on the right - Charles Bird, Chemist and William Lewis, Undertaker  
Source: Note supplied by Baldwin & Davis, Research Gulgong (July 2006)

1918 - [DEATH]
Mr. William Reed of Herbert-street, Gulgong, died a few days since at the ripe old age of 88 years. He had lived in Gulgong for about 45 years. Mr. Reed was a native of Devonshire, England, but had lived for over 60 years in New South Wales. He was married to Mrs. Seabrook, of the Criterion Hotel, and well-known in the early days of Gulgong. His wife predeceased him by many years. Mr.Reed was a prominent member of the Methodist Church.

1944 - 72 Years in Possession of the One Family
This is the claim of Mrs. Joe Cicognani in regard to the premises at the corner of Belmore and Herbert streets, Gulgong. The Criterion Hotel, or the ground on which it stands was taken up by Mrs. Cicognani's step grandfather, Mr. William Reed, 72 years ago and since then has been continuously in the possession of the family.
This week the old building, with its wealth of early memories and its stories of comedy and tragedy, is to fall before the demolisher's hands. Before Mr. and Mrs. Cicognani came to live there 32 years ago, the old building had not only served as an hostelry, but at one time provided one of few maternity hospitals in the old mining town.
It may have been during this period that the well known late Professor Mills first saw the light of day within its walls. In conversation with Mr. E. Gudgeon at one time the professor told Mr. Gudgeon he was born in the old bark Criterion Hotel at the corner of Herbert and Belmore streets, Gulgong. Many a tale the old walls could tell if they could speak, for in all those long years, though fires consumed buildings of more substantial nature close by, the aged old bark house withstood the ravages of time, and created also somewhat of an insurance record, inasmuch as Mr. Cicognani has regularly covered the house and contents with the one company over a period of 24 years without the smallest claim.
The "Advertiser" thinks a photo of the old building should be placed among the historic relics which Gulgong should have.

... Recently the old building, with, its wealth of early memories and its stories of comedy and tragedy fell before the demolisher's hands. Before Mr. and Mrs. Cicognani came to live there 32 years ago, the old building had not only served as an hostelry, but at one time provided one of few maternity hospitals in the old mining town.

Thursday, October 28, 2021

BELMORE HOTEL


Belmore Hotel, Cnr Herbert and Belmore Street, Gulgong, 1872
Source: SLNSW

Eli Allen was Licensee of the Belmore Hotel in Gulgong in 1872. Eli Allen came to Gulgong from Muswellbrook in 1871, where he had the White Horse Inn. In 1873 the licence was transferred to James Coleman. Coleman died suddenly in April 1876 and the licence was transferred to his widow, Mrs Coleman.

1880s
Phoebe Lewis Hogden married Henry Hogden on 02 April 1881 at Cobbora. On 26 April 1906, Phoebe Lewis Hogden took over the license of the Belmore Hotel from John Spears. She was divorced from Henry Hogden on the 30 August 1906, due to his adultery. Unfortunately, due to ill health, [cervical cancer], Phoebe had to give up her running of the hotel, she died in Mayne Street, Gulgong on the 16 January 1908.

Phoebe's daughter - Phoebe Rebecca Hogden - married William Patrick Robinson in Gulgong in 1905. Their son, Reginald Herbert Robinson was born at the Prince of Wales Hotel on 8 September 1906. Phoebe died at the hotel on 26 September 1906 from complications of childbirth.
Source: Gail Macdonald, descendant

Belmore Hotel Gulgong 1872 and 1954
Source: SLNSW
Source: Holtermann Collection  and Pix.Vol. 33 No. 4 (3 April 1954)

Beer Pump from the Belmore Hotel 1872
Part of a museum display, 1966

NEWS ITEMS

1871 - New Brewery
Mr. Eli. Allen has erected at the corner of Herbert and Belmore Street, a new brewery. He hopes to have his first brew ready for Christmas consumption.
[Note : Eli Allen was the licensee of the Belmore Hotel which was on this block.]
Source: Gulgong Guardian, Issue No 44, December 16, 1871

Source: Gulgong Guardian, Issue No 66, April 3, 1872

Source: Gulgong Guardian, Issue No 128, November 6, 1872

1873 - TRANSFER OF LICENCE
Transfer of License Eli Allen, Belmore Hotel to James Coleman - granted.
Source: Gulgong Guardian, Issue No 194, 25 June 1873

1874 - Fatal Mining Accident 
Yesterday, a fall of earth at a depth of 40 feet in a claim near Homer’s paddock, between the Star and Helvetia Leads occurred. A strong German, Robert Robbins, well known in the town and of great intelligence, employed by Mr Franck to dig his cellar, was buried under more than a ton of earth and was taken out dead. He was blind in one eye, tall, stout and of fair complexion. The Inquest was held at the Belmore Hotel. The jury—Messrs W. H. Walker, [foreman] William Reid, William Wesley, Henry Bradshaw and Henry Mortlock., Henric Myer, Elisha Snow, John Henry, all of the Shallow Rush and Constable William Foster all gave evidence. The Coroner stated that the shaft should have been slabbed, verdict was the deceased suffocated from a fall of earth.
Source: Gulgong Evening Argus, 15 December 1874

1876 - Transfer 
The Gulgong Bench of magistrates on Wednesday granted the transfer of the license of the Belmore Hotel, held by the late Mr Coleman to Mrs Coleman.
Source: Gulgong Evening Argus, 15 April 1876

1898 - [ADVERTISMENT]
BELMORE HOTEL - Herbert Street - John Hewitt—Proprietor
Source: The Gulgong Advertiser, 14 January 1898

1914 - GULGONG HOTEL SOLD.
The Belmore Hotel, at Gulgong, has changed hands. Sid Whitton has disposed of his interests in the old pub to Mr. Allan Oldfield, of Auburn, Sydney. The new boniface will take possession this week or early next week.