Showing posts with label cobbora. Show all posts
Showing posts with label cobbora. Show all posts

Thursday, November 18, 2021

AGRICULTURE

1907 - Over Old Leads. BY COTSWOLD.
II. GULGONG TO THE TALBRAGAR.

Up to the opening of the railway from Coonamble to Dubbo, practically all the traffic from the Castlereagh came to Mudgee, and still a very large portion of the Merrygoen and Mundooran traffic comes that way, though the latter is but 20 miles from Gilgandra, and is 73 from Mudgee. The advantages are a good road and very great saving in railway freights.

Local opinion seems to be that the Mudgee and Gulgong people were negligent of their best interests when the Dubbo to Coonamble railway was put through. With the construction of the Mudgee-Dunedoo railway, however, much of the intervening country will be well served. This line does not follow the main road, but runs some distance to the north-east, and advisedly so, as the good agricultural country is better tapped thereby. Gulgong itself lies to the north-east of the main Castlereagh to Mudgee road.

If the road from Mudgee to Gulgong lies through patchy country, that from Gulgong to Cobborah is still more so. Running west to join the main road some very fair agricultural land is met with, mostly held in small farms, many acquired from the Rouse family during comparatively recent years. Here the cultivation is, on the whole, pretty good, and on some farms intelligent, methodical working is strongly in evidence. Amongst the farms near the town are those of Messrs. Sloman, Smith, Cooney, W. Watt, Jackson, and Graham. These farms do not, however, by any means comprise all the good agricultural land.

Reedy, or Wyaldra, Creek may be crossed just after joining the main road, or by an earlier turning to the right, which eventually leads on to Tallewang, Dunedoo, Denison Town, Leadville, Coolah, etc. The creek, which has a very deep and wide channel, flows strongly only after heavy rains, but the amount of gravel in the bed indicates an undercurrent. After crossing, the quality of the land on the right hand perceptibly deteriorates, and what can be seen from the road is mostly suitable for grazing purposes. Mrs. Docwra and Mr. Stahl are holders of land hereabouts.

Farther on, at Tallewang, there are, however, a number of farmers who go in for cultivation with success. In most seasons, though the present one is far from being favorable.

THRIFTY FARMERS.
On the left hand, sloping up from Wyaldra Creek, however, is some very fair farming land indeed, mostly acquired from the Rouse family, and held by such persevering farmers as the brothers Campbell, Mr. Croome, etc. One Mr. Campbell has been a considerable experimenter with different varieties of wheat, no fewer than seven having been tried on sufficient scale to practically demonstrate their suitability to the district and current methods of cultivation. The popular Purple Straw has been found to do well upon the whole, while White Lammas has yielded but 12 bushels to the acre alongside of Steinwedel with 27 bushels under identical treatment and in exactly similar soil. The latter has generally been found to be ahead of Purple Straw by about five bushels, and as much as 50 bushels per acre have been obtained from a small area (12 acres). Other varieties tried have been Trilby, John Brown, Plover, and Schneider, the two latter having yielded very good results.

Mr. Croome has 560 acres, which was purchased when in a ringbarked state some six years ago. One hundred acres are under crop, principally for hay, as chaff is a profitable product. A little maize is grown, principally for home consumption. Mr. Croome's land runs right down to the creek, at the crossing of the main road, where is a small settlement and the Beryl school. Near by are one or two market gardens, prettily situated at the foot of rugged hills.

THE COBBORAH-ROAD.
On the Cobborah-road, when Reedy Creek is passed, most of the good country is left behind so far as the immediate roadside is concerned. The exceptions are at Goodiman, where Mr. O'Connell has a large holding and some cultivation; at Haley's, where new land is being brought into cultivation, and ring barking is going on; and at Faulkner's (Lackey Creek). Spring Ridge, the property of Mr. Niven, is a large holding, a very great area of which has been cleared at what must have been a very heavy cost. It lies between Goodiman and Lackey Creek. The country consists chiefly of steep ridges, with little depth of soil, but affording useful grazing ground for sheep and cattle. The picturesque and substantial roadside hotel here illustrated is located on this property. Though the country passed through is at places very steep and hilly, the road has been very well surveyed, and neither rises nor falls to any very considerable extent.

After passing Faulkner's, the country is heavily timbered, but no agricultural land is met with until one nears the Talbragar, a few miles from  Cobborah. But at a little distance on either side is sterling good agricultural land, that on the west being on Sandy Creek, which runs into the Talbragar a few miles below Cobborah, while that on the right is undulating, with a few small stony ridges. It is here, about 12 miles from Cobborah, that the Stringybark alluvial goldfield is situated, and the adjoining country is known as Tucklan.

GOOD COUNTRY.
In this bit of back country is some of the most pleasing agricultural land that it has been the lot of the writer to see. The average elevation is some 1500ft, and the rainfall about 27in, which, notwithstanding recent seasons, is generally fairly regular. The few ridges, and some timber which has been left, must assist in protecting the country from the westerly winds. Wherever one turns the useful kurrajong is to be found, and though the shapely heads of the trees evidence the recourse which has been had to them of late for fodder, this does not in any way take from the productiveness of the country in general.

Isolated from the railway, and with rough travelling tracks until the main roads are reached, productive farms are met with one after another, some of which have been occupied for many years. This country will be well served by the Mudgee Dunedoo railway when completed.

One of the older farmers, in this district is Mr. R. Ballard, of Park View, a resident of some 20 years. When he first started operations his whole capital amounted to an exceedingly small sum, but it does not appear that he has any reason to repent of his energy and perseverance. He holds upwards of 1400 acres of conditional purchase and conditional lease land, runs 1300 sheep, and crops from 100 to 200 acres each year. As showing the productivity of the land, he considers 20 bushels to the acre a rather poor crop, and has obtained an average for the year of 39 bushels, although, through delay in getting the strippers to work, a considerable loss was sustained through shedding. As illustrating his sound methods of farming, the present dry season has found him well prepared, and between hay and the carefully-preserved kurrajongs, it must be a lengthy drought indeed which will result in losses of his stock.
Source; Australian Town and Country Journal (Sydney, NSW : 1870 - 1919) Wed 6 Nov 1907 Page 34

Saturday, November 6, 2021

ROBERT MARTIN SNR and JNR

Cobbora has often been referred to as 'Martin Town' because of the number of people there bearing the Martin name. When Mrs (Mary) Robert Cooper Martin died on the 7th September 1913, aged 84 years, she left 41 grandchildren and 42 great-grandchildren to mourn the loss of one courageous pioneer in the Cobborah district. She was a native of Richmond and moved to Cobbora in about 1849 when she was 20 years of age.

The Rouse brothers, John, Richard and Edwin were probably grazing stock in the Cobbora district in the early 1820s. They had taken up Guntawang Run on the Cudgegong near Gulgong and the Mundooran run on the Castlereagh near Mendooran. The first person interested in acquiring land at Cobbora was Robert Martin who chose 1,280 acres at Cobrow (Cobbora) on the southern side of the Talbragar River. Richard Rouse later procured 640 acres on the western boundary of Martin's selection. The first map that used the name 'Cobborah' was prepared by Assistant Surveyor Lewis in 1832, when he surveyed the Talbragar River from Merutherer (Merotherie) to Cobborah. The word 'Cobborah', on the map, is close to the Talbragar, near where Martin had his homestead and 'Martin's Inn' was later constructed. 

Robert MARTIN Snr

Robert Martin Snr (1768-1846) Robert Martin Snr was born in the north of England in 1768. He was a tailor and prior to coming free to the Colony in 1804 on the 'Experiment', lived at 46 York Street, Westminster. 

James HOWARD of 10 Brewer Street, London recommended the Martin family. His recommendation indicated that Robert MARTIN had come from the north of England to London some 15 years previously and had been employed by Howard as a Tailor.

He came out with his first wife Mary (nee Cooper, born about 1763), and their children:

  • Martha (15 years), 
  • Robert Jnr (5 years) and 
  • Caroline (1 year). 
Robert Snr did not stay long at his trade and by 1809 had a land grant at Green Hills. He could not read or write but had a 'canny' ability to expand his land empire. Mary Martin died in 1828 and in 1842 he married spinster Margaret Henderson in Richmond. They had one child:

  • Johanna Henderson Martin, born in 1846. 

The ship “The Experiment” arrived in Sydney in 1804, having embarked from England with some 59 free settlers as well as a contingent of convicts. Experiment embarked two male and 136 female convicts. Six female convicts died on the voyage. The Martin family numbered among the free settlers. Robert MARTIN Snr, his wife, the former Mary COOPER and a son Robert Jnr were among the arrivals. On the original list were two daughters, Caroline aged 15 years and Martha aged 4 months. No trace of these daughters has been found after their arrival in Australia. Existing records seem to suggest that Caroline left the ship before it left England and that Martha died on the voyage.

On arrival, the Martins were granted approximately 100 acres at Musgrave Place in the Hawkesbury district. It is registered as land Grant No 1186 of 6 Jul 1804 with rent of three shillings per annum commencing after 5 years.

A note in a paper in 1821 mentioned Martin land adjacent to Richmond Hill. Robert Snr. spent the larger part of his life on this grant at Richmond Hill near the common. However, he acquired a further 50 acres adjoining his original grant. He also bought one acre of land in March Street, on the corner of Lennox Street, at Richmond. From his will it can be deduced that Robert lived at March Street in the last years of his life.

In the early 1820s Robert Martin's interest moved to Cobbora area where he received a grant that was officially proclaimed 30 September 1839. 

By 1828 Robert MARTIN owned at least 100 acres of cleared land at Richmond, 9 horses and 200 cattle. In 1929 he was appointed to the Missionary Committee for Windsor and in 1836 appointed to Protestant Committee at Richmond and Windsor. 
  • Robert Martin, like most free settlers, used convict labour. The name of one is referred to in a notice in The Sydney Morning Herald dated 27th November 1808.
  • From The Australian 27 May 1841. Martin's store being opened at his cottage in March Street Richmond. 
  • Subscriber to the Hibernian Fund 2nd August 1832. 
  • Robert Snr was appointed to the Protestant Committee, Windsor Richmond Gazette 19th July 1836. He was also a subscriber to Bourke's statue and memorial - 1838.
On 13 Sep 1839 Robert Martin Snr was granted 1280 acres of land at Cobbora in the Mudgee district. There is a suggestion that both Robert Snr and Jnr visited this property from time to time. The present town of Cobbora was originally called Martin’s Town before becoming Cobbora, the name Martin gave his property.

In June 1838 he applied for grazing license in the County of Bligh, which suggests that the Martin family had been to Cobbora before actually gaining a land grant there. 
Robert's wife, Mary Martin nee COOPER, died at Richmond on 3 Mar 1841 and presumably was buried there. In 1842, Robert MARTIN Snr. married again, to a Margaret HENDERSON, by whom there was a daughter born on 14 Apr 1846. She was named Johanna Henderson MARTIN. Two months later, on 13 Jun 1846 Martin Snr. died.

From his will, it appears that Martin Snr had added another 50 acres to his original 100 acres land grant made in 1804. By the time of this death this land was being rented to Thomas SIMONS, Thomas EATHER and William MAGIC with James WHITE renting a further 50 acres. The whole of these 150 acres was referred to as Martin’s Farm.

Martin Snr left property to his widow, Margaret HENDERSON, to his son Robert Jnr and made provisions for his grandsons and granddaughters.

ROBERT MARTIN Jnr

Robert Martin Jnr was born 23 October 1797/8 Darsham, Suffolk England and died on 11 September 1872 at Richmond NSW. He was married on 13.Aug 1822 at Richmond to Mary Elizabeth MERRICK. She had been born at Parramatta on 14 Mar 1795, the daughter of Edward MERRICK and Mary RUSSELL. Mary Elizabeth died on 7 Oct 1855 at Richmond and was buried in the Martin family vault.
 
Briefly, Edward MERRICK was born in England about 1763. He arrived as a convict on the “Surprise” in 1790. He was one of the first blacksmiths in Australia and the first police constable at Richmond where a street is named after him. 
His wife, Mary RUSSELL was also born in England about the year 1764 and was also to arrive here as a convict on the “Mary Ann” in 1791. The couple were married at St. Phillip’s Sydney on 24 Dec 1791.

Robert Martin Jnr and Mary Elizabeth Merrick had the following children:

  • Robert Cooper (1822-1884), 
  • Caroline (1824-1878), 
  • Martha (1826-1901), 
  • John Harden (1829-1881), 
  • William Martin (1832-1871), 
  • Henry Martin (1834-1835). 

Robert Martin Jnr remarried in 1861/2 at Richmond to Mary Oliver Peny (1812-1873). They had no children. He died on 11th September 1872, aged 75 years and is also buried at St. Peter's, Richmond. 

Robert Jnr spent the greater part of his life at Richmond, with visits to his family’s interest at Cobbora. Robert Jnr. and Mary Elizabeth had six surviving children between 1822 and 1834. 

On 8 Oct 1858, Robert Jnr. made out a will which recognised the claim of his stepmother Margaret HENDERSON, by now known as Mrs. Stephen FIELD. After her death he left the bulk of his estate to his daughter Caroline (Mrs. William Thomas PRICE). The executors of this will were William Thomas PRICE and Caleb CRISFORD.
However, something happened which caused Robert Jnr, to change his mind. He made out another will some 2 months before his death. In this second will, he left property to his second wife Mary Oliver PERRY, and made provisions for his sons and daughters.

The Cobbora property was still technically in the possession of Margaret HENDERSON (Mrs. Field) and she leased it to Robert Jnr. It appears that this legal position existed even after the death of Robert Jnr who had leased part of his property to some of his sons.

Margaret FIELD did not die until 23 May 1891 at Manly and was buried in St. Peters at Richmond. She left a daughter by her marriage to Stephen FIELD – Johanna Henderson FIELD, who later married Crawford Robert BEDWELL and had a number of children.

By the time of Robert MARTIN Jnr.’s death his land at Cobbora was principally leased by a James RICHARDS with a piece being leased by his son William. Adjacent land was owned by the Rouse family which was to have repercussions in the next generation.
Source: This Martin history was provided by Darryl Pickett

Friday, November 5, 2021

THOMAS LOCKWOOD MARTIN

Thomas Lockwood MARTIN was the son of Robert William MARTIN (1850 – 1931) and Rosetta Ann TAYLOR (1856-1923).

was once the home of Thomas married Ada F Blinkco in Redfern in 1905. They lived at “Hillside” Cobbora. Thomas and Ada were the parents of:
  • Harold - born 1916
  • Noel - born ?
  • Cecil - born 1918
NEWS ITEMS

1933 - "Grievous Bodily Harm" TOM MARTIN ARRAIGNED
What Happened at Cobbora FULL POLICE COURT EVIDENCE
Source: Mudgee Guardian and North-Western Representative (NSW : 1890 - 1954) Thu 23 Nov 1933 Page 13

_________________________________

ANCESTORS

There were five generations of Robert Martins:

It appears the land at Cobbora was passed to Robert Cooper MARTIN and somehow this land was lost to the Rouse family*. A brother, William, had the Hotel. “The Traveller’s Rest” on Cobbora Station.
Source: Darryl Pickett
* See also page 177 of this history.

Thomas Lockwood and Ada May Martin, Gulgong Cemetery
Source: Austcemindex


COBBORA


Streets of Cobbora Village
Source: sixmaps and GoogleEarth

The first graziers near Cobbora were brothers John Richard and Edwin Rouse in the 1820s. Freehold title of 1,280 acres was first granted to Robert Martin Snr, who chose land at Cobrow near the present day Cobbora township. Other landholders joined him and in 1863 Cobbora was subdivided into 150 half-acre lots. Nineteen lots were added to the growing township in 1883. Officially proclaimed a town in 1886, Cobbora was considered the regional centre throughout the nineteenth century. This changed when the railway was built to Dunedoo in 1910.


A hut on "Medway Station" located near Sweeney's Lane, Cobbora.

The hut is a two-roomed structure with a verandah. It has one sandstone chimney and is on a sandstone base. One of the sandstone blocks has the number 1891 carved on its side. The verandah is held up by wooden posts.
The property was once owned by George Thompson and later by Geoff and Pam Jackson. There is a grave on the property for Charles Archibald Clarendon Cox.
Source: Jan Jackson

MARTIN'S HOUSE

Martin's House Birrewa Street Cobbora 2843, built circa 1860
Source: Heritage Inventory Sheets Cobbora and Coolah 2019

Statement of significance - An important relic that stands for a very significant early settler family. In particular Mrs (Mary) Robert Cooper Martin, the mother and grandmother of many in the district, and who was a pioneer when she came to the Cobborah district. The cottage is now almost a ruin, but demonstrates the hard life of pioneers and the simple lifestyle they endured.

Physical description - A small early settler’s house with hipped corrugated iron roof and skillion to the rear and front verandah. Constructed in vertical timber Board and batten, the timbers are exceedingly dry and many battens are now displaced leaving only the slabs. The front verandah wall is lined in horizontal timber planks. Inside the house was once ‘papered’ against the weather. Two sheet metal chimneys sit at the side. Part of the verandah at the front is filled in. The house appears to be set on timbers on the ground. Two doors lead to the front verandah and there appears to be no conventional windows. The front verandah iron roof is self-supporting from the wall to the verandah beam and posts are rough hewn.

COBBORA HALL

Cobbora Hall, view looking south east
18 Dunedoo Street Cobbora
Source: Peter Duggan's photo in Heritage Inventory Sheets Cobbora and Coolah 2019

Statement of significance - The Cobbora Hall has been a focus of activity for the Cobbora community for over 100 years. It was previously relocated to a sporting ground in the late 1950s where it later fell into disrepair. In the c.2010s the hall was restored and relocated back to its original site and has regained its place as a social hub.

Physical description - The Cobbora Hall is a timber-framed iron-clad building with a gable roof and an attached, corrugated iron clad entrance porch at its northern end. The walls are clad in corrugated iron laid horizontally. On the western side elevation a central door is flanked each side by a window. Each window has its own small awning over. A reverse skillion kitchen/service wing is attached on the eastern side.

The Cobbora Hall was constructed by the community in 1915 and has been the focus of community events for over 100 years. The hall was relocated in about 1958 from its original site alongside the Cobbora courthouse to a sporting ground, 2 kms distant. It was part of a sports centre and there were 3 or 4 tennis courts in front of it, still evident. The hall fell into disrepair and was relocated back to near its original site in c.2012 and restored for use as a community hall and function venue. 

On April 1st, 1915 the Mudgee Guardian described the hall as one of the largest and up-to-date halls in the district and built according to the requirements of the Theatres and Public Halls Act. The hall was opened on Friday 16th July, 1915 with over 300 people present. Mr Inder, one of the oldest residents, performed the opening ceremony speech. Dinner was held and music provided by Messrs. Hughes and Sons and the Dunedoo Town Band (Mudgee Guardian 22nd July, 1915). 

The Kookaburra March - Although there were ten Recruiting Marches during World War 1, only two of them commenced from the same region. These were the 'Cooee March' which left Gilgandra on Sunday 10th October, 1915 and arrived in Sydney, 535 kms away on Friday 12th November, 1915; and the 'Kookaburra March' which commenced at Tooraweenah on Wednesday 12th January, 1916 and ended at Bathurst on Thursday 3rd January, 1916, a distance of 378 kms. After leaving Tooraweenah, the Kookaburras marched through Yarragrin, Mendooran, Boomley, Cobbora, Dunedoo, Craboon, Birriwa, Tallawang, Gulgong, Mudgee, Havilah, Lue, Rylstone, Kandos, Clandulla, Ilford, Running Stream, Capertee, Ben Bullen, Portland, Meadow Rat, Yetholme and finally to Bathurst. They started with 25 recruits and ended up with 92 enrolees. After marching via Boomley, from Mendooran, the Kookaburras on their fifth day from the start of the March from Tooraweenah reached Cobbora on Monday 17th January, 1916. 

The Mudgee Guardian of the day quoted that the 43 Kookaburras were a fine stamp of men and were delighted with the fine reception they had been given at Cobbora. Mr. Barry Weeks, a resident of Coonabarabran later commented that the Kookaburras marched 22 to 24 kms a day. The men were well fed, as residents along the way provided cooked turkeys and fowls for them. Although four men promised to enlist at Cobbora, only one joined the March there. He was E.W.G. Marsh who was born near Stroud, NSW. As the Marchers left Cobbora. they were presented with a tame kookaburra bird by a local boy.

Cobbora Hall, view looking south west
Source: Peter Duggan's photo in Heritage Inventory Sheets Cobbora and Coolah 2019

SHIRE COUNCIL

Cobbora Shire Council, 16 Dec 1910

NEWS ITEMS




1905 - Cobbora, (From our Correspondent.)
A dance in aid of the R. C. Church was held in the Cobbora hall on Friday night last, which proved to be a great success. About 50 couples were present. Great praise is due to the hon. sec. (Mr. L. Norris). who left no stone unturned to bring the affair to a successful issue. The tables were very nicely laden with refreshments, and the ladies who provided them are to be congratulated on the way they fulfilled their duties. The following is a list of some of the dresses worn by the ladies:—
Mrs. Norris (Spring Ridge) ... Black silk
Mrs C. Craft (Cobbora) ... White silk
Mrs A. Inder (Tucklan) ... Cream silk
Mrs J. Craft ... Black voile and blue trimmings
Mrs A. Dorman (Dapper) ... Black voile and blue trimmings
Mrs J. Atkins (Tucklan) ... White silk
Mrs O'Neill ... Black voile, red silk blouse, cream lace
Miss Williams (Hill End) ... Cream silk, lace trimmings
Miss A. Williams ... Black voile, cream satin trimmings
Miss F. Nott (Bolaro) ... Vieux rose voile, cream lace trimmings
Miss A. Norris ... Pale blue silk and white lace
Miss C. Haley ... Black voile skirt and blue blouse
Miss J. Scifleet ... Pale green voile and cream lace
Miss K. Scifleet ... Vieux rose voile and cream lace
Miss A. Burkinshaw ... Black lustre and white satin
Miss L. Burkinshaw ... Brown voile skirt, heliotrope silk blouse
Miss N. Burkinshaw ... Black silk
Miss K. Barrett (Barragon) ... Black voile skirt, blue silk blouse and white lace
Miss E. Talbot (Lahy's Creek) ... White silk and red poppies
Miss V. Robe ... White silk
Miss Meers (Dapper) ... Cream cashmere, red ribbon
Miss M. Chapman ... Floral muslin and white lace
Miss M. Croke ... Black voile skirt, pink silk blouse
Miss M. Russell (Tallewang) ... Black satin, cream trimmings
Miss W. Russell (Tallewang) ... Grey voile and white lace
Miss M. Jones (Tallewang) ... Pale blue silk and white lace
Miss A. Piper (Medway) ... Blue silk and lace trimmings
Miss G. Wilson (Tallewang) ... Black voile and blue silk
Miss B. Madigan (Lahy's Creek) ... Cream cashmere, pink ribbon
Miss S. Niven (Spring Ridge) ... Blue silk, white lace
Miss B. Falconer (Lahy's Creek) ... Black mervellieux, red poppies
Miss A. Daley (Hill View) ... White muslin and lace
Miss J. Chandler ... Black velvet
Miss L. Thompson (Medway) ... White muslin and white lace
Miss M. Hogden ... Black voile skirt and blue blouse

Source: Mudgee Guardian and North-Western Representative (NSW : 1890 - 1954) Thu 24 Aug 1905 Page 9

1906 - Social at Bolaro. (From our Correspondent.)
What was said to be the most successful social ever held at Bolaro eventuated at Mr. James Nott's residence (Mt. Pleasant) on Friday, 1st instant. The function was in aid of the Union Church, now being erected at Bolaro.
Visitors from all the surrounding localities were present, the attendance numbering 70 couples. Notwithstanding that two rooms were requisitioned for dancing purposes, the floor proved to be crowded. Music was provided by Mrs McKean (piano) and Mr Chandler (concertina). They were assisted by Miss Barrett and Mr Manns (piano) and Mr McKean (violin). Messrs Craft, Milson and Seabrook performed the duties of M's.C.
A very nice supper was partaken of at midnight. The wants of those at the table were attended to by Mesdames Nott, Patterson, Leeson, Shaw and Rhodes, and Misses Nott (3), Patterson (3) and Rhodes (2). During an interval after supper a drawing took place for a fat sheep, presented by Mr Alf. Rayner, Mangaleer, and a wedding cake, presented by Mrs Leeson, Anglewood. Mrs Atkins won the sheep, while Mr J. D. Parker, of Gulgong, won the cake.
During the evening Mr Patterson thanked all those who by their help and attendance were responsible in making the social the success — both financially and socially — it had proved to be. He also gave a resume of the financial condition of the church. He said the building of a church had been mooted for some years, but no steps had been taken till quite recently, when Mr H. A. Patrick had donated the land, and a subscription list was opened, and the contributors were so liberal that a contract was let for £139. The church was now nearing completion, and would be almost free from debt, only about £12 being required. He also added that not only did the people of the district contribute, but help was also received in the way of donations from the people of Gulgong, Mudgee and Nyngan. It is expected that the social will result in a nett profit of over £20, upon which the hon. secs., Messrs J. J. Nott and G. Patterson, jun., are to be commended.
Appended is a list of the ladies present:—
Mrs. Jas. Nott, Mount Pleasant... Black silk, chiffon trimmings
Mrs. C. Nott, Oakfield... Flowered lace
Mrs. McKean, Cobbora... Black voile, chiffon trimmings
Mrs. J. Yeo, Ballarah... Black velvet, cream lace
Mrs. Paterson, Bonny Plain. ..Black silk, sequin net
Mrs. Thompson, Bolaro... Black cashmere, twine lace
Mrs. Rhodes, Hill View... Black and sequin
Mrs. Shaw, Barragon ... Black silk, lace trimmingsMrs. Atkins, Tucklan.. ..Black and green
Mrs. Scheibel, Cobbora... Tussore silk, lace trimmings
Mrs. Hicks, Gulgong... Blue silk, silver sequins and chiffon
Mrs. Kable, Bolaro... Cream voile over pink
Mrs. New... Black and heliotrope
Mrs. Sharpe, Cobbora... Black silk, applique trimmings
Mrs. Leeson, Anglewood.. Black voile
Mrs. S. Rayner, Cobbora... Indian muslin, Valenciennes lace and insertion
Miss C. Crawford, Gulgong... White silk, over buttercup, and narrow frills of lace
Miss M. Crawford, Gulgong... Blue silk, chiffon trimmings
Miss S. Crawford, Gulgong... White Persian lawn, valenciennes lace and insertion.
Miss L. Crawford, Gulgong.. .Pale green voile, lace and ribbon
Miss E. Williams, Hill End. ..Brown voile, silk kiltings, and applique trimmings
Miss J. Scifleet, Cobbora.. ..White muslin and lace
Miss K. Scifleet, Cobbora. ..White silk, cardinal ribbons
Miss K. Barrett, Hill View... Cream costume
Miss Muriel Highfield, Gulgong... Cream silk, figured voile
Miss Lila Rhodes, Hill View. ..Cream voile, silk Yak lace
Miss E. Rhodes, Hill View... Blue voile, black velvet ribbon
Miss Amy Rhodes, Hill View. ..Green vone, lace trimmings
Miss Madgwick, Denison Town... Cream voile, blue silk, lace trimmings
Miss M. Barwick, Mudgee. ..Cream voile skirt, silk blouse, lace trimmings
Miss A. Nott, Mount Pleasant... Tussore silk
Miss E. Nott, Mount Pleasant... White book muslin, lace and insertion
Miss F. Nott, Mount Pleasant.. ..Pale blue voile, twine lace
Miss Esther Nott, Mount Pleasant... White silk over pink, lace trimmings
Miss Francers Nott, Bolaro ... Brown voile
Miss C. Nott, Bolara... Black voile, silk trimmings
Miss Elsie Nott, Bolaro... Red satin bodice, voile skirt to match, and satin passementerie
Miss Ballard, Tucklan.. .Cream voile lace trimmings
Miss Flo. Ballard, Tucklan... Cream voile, blue satin, cream lace
Miss Leeson, Anglewood. ..Pale green, lace trimmings
Miss New, Martindale ..Black voile, twine lace
Miss T. New, Martindale ..Black shirt, blue silk bodice, lace and insertion
Miss M. New, Martindale... Black skirt, red satin bodice
Miss E. New, Martindale... Black voile
Miss Paterson, Bonny Plain... Black voile
Miss Ina Sharp, Cobbora.. .Maroon voile, lace and ribbon
Miss Atkins, Cobbora... Red cashmere, white silk trimmings
Miss Johnson, Dunedoo... Black voile
Miss Alsop, Tucklan... Black skirt, white silk blouse and chiffon
Miss Stella Rayner, Cobbora ... Cream nun's veiling, chiffon trimmings
Miss Katie Thompson, Bolaro... Cream voile
Miss Rachael Yeo, Ballarah... Flowered muslin, white silk collar
Miss E. R. Chapman, Bolaro .. .Red skirt, pale green bodice.

Source: Mudgee Guardian and North-Western Representative (NSW : 1890 - 1954) Thu 14 Jun 1906 Page 20

Ann Yeo, Daisy Conliffe, Eva Scifleet, Phyllis and Marge Craft with cricketers. ca 1930
Source: Petrina McFarlane from Hazel Jackson's collection

  • Miss Ann Yeo, of Hillview (Dunedoo?) married in 1936.
  • Daisy Conliffe was the daughter of John Joseph Conliffe (1869-1941) of "Berry Park", Cobbora.
  • Miss Eva Scifleet was the fourth daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Scifleet, of Cobbora. She got married in 1927.
  • Phyllis Craft of Cobbora got engaged in 1937.
  • Miss Marg. Craft of Cobbora was married in 1939.
Source: Trove