Showing posts with label hunter. Show all posts
Showing posts with label hunter. Show all posts

Thursday, October 28, 2021

ALBION HOTEL

The above illustration captures Hunter's two storey Albion Hotel, right foreground. formerly Hunter & Co. Boot StoreOn the opposite side of Herbert Street is Tarrant's Hotel (with a smoking chimney). 

Albion Hotel on Herbert Street, 1890-1910

This detail from a larger photo shows the two-storey Albion Hotel on the right of Sippel & Co. (tobacconists) on Herbert Street. Two doors down from Sippels the shopfront seems to say HUNTER & Co (which may be the relocated boot store).

Samuel Ferguson was the first licensee of the Albion Hotel in Gulgong, originally located on lower Herbert Street. 
In 1874 John Hunter turned his shoe bazaar Hunter & Co. into the Albion Hotel and moved his boot shop to the building next door, formerly the Crystal Fountain. The following year, 1875, he purchased Nightingale's Hotel [formerly Tuckerman's Hotel] and amalgamated the two hotels into a new two-storied Albion. He remained as licensee until 1877.

NEWS ITEMS

1871 - [ADVERTISEMENT]
Albion Hotel - Herbert Street, Gulgong - S. Ferguson BEGS to invite all his old Victorian, Queensland, and New Zealand friends, and the public generally, to favour him with a call in his Snug Hostelrie, where he has always in Stock a Choice Assortment of the Best Brands in Wines, Spirits, and Liquors, and will spare no effort to provide for their comfort in every way.
Source: Gulgong Guardian, Issue No 14, 20 May 1871

1871 - POLICE COURT
Burglary - Henry Liddell charged with breaking into the Albion Hotel, kept by Samuel Ferguson, and stealing £68. Arrested by Detective Hannan and Constable Stapleton. Ferguson, [with his wife and a man named Rochford were in the hotel], when he looked around and found his cash box missing, he ran outside went about 140 yards, saw two men that had been in the hotel, carrying a box, told them to drop it or he would put a ball into them, they did so then ran towards the New Zealand public house. Mr. Medley, mentioned. Charles Monk, publican on the Black Lead gave evidence, stated that the prisoner lived on the Red Hill, insufficient evidence dismissed. James McCarthy dismissed same charge.
Source: Gulgong Guardian, Issue No 23, 22 July 1871

1871 - Sale of Land in Gulgong
It is advertised in the Government Gazette that on Monday the 25th, 48 town allotments will be sold, as follows; the small allotments at the back of Queen Street between Selff’s and Naughton’s Hotels. The allotments behind those facing Herbert Street on both side of the road from Tarrant’s Hotel to Hall, the Bootmaker and from the AJS Bank to the Albion Hotel; also the allotment adjoining Saunders’ Hotel. The occupants of these allotments should take instant steps to have them withdrawn from sale, otherwise they may be sold over their heads. The Progress Committee has brought the matter to the notice of Commissioner Browne who has promised to have the lots withdrawn.
Source: Gulgong Guardian, Issue No 29, 2 September 1871

1872 - [ADVERTISEMENT]
Albion Hotel - Situated in Herbert Street, freehold premises ooccupied by Mr. Ferguson.
Source: Gulgong Guardian, Issue No 47, 6 January 1872

1872 - [FOR SALE]
A BARGAIN - FOR SALE - THE ALBION HOTEL AND LICENCE - SITUATED IN HERBERT STREET - The house contains Bar, Bar Parlour, and Large Dining Room, four Bedrooms, Servants Room, and Kitchen. THE PRICE IS LOW - Satisfactory reasons for disposing of this valuable property will be given to bona-fide purchases.
Apply to S. J. FERGUSON, Albion Hotel, Herbert Street.
Source: Gulgong Guardian, Issue No 47, 6 January 1872

1872 - Police Court
Larceny – Elizabeth Henrietta Ferguson stole a lace shawl and one earring property of Eliza Blakely. Detective Powell went to Lamrock’s Hotel to do a search on information received. Eliza Blakely evidence: In February last, I was in the prisoners service at the Albion Hotel in Herbert Street, and lost the article while in her services, which were kept in a box, with 11/-, reported this to Mrs. Ferguson and she gave me a pound and told me not to say anything about it. I later found my box had been opened again, I told Mr. Ferguson in her presence, I was about three weeks in her employ. I left her service the night Mr. Ferguson came home, as there was a row. I never slept with Mrs. Ferguson. Mrs. Laundry told me she had seen Mrs. Ferguson with my earrings. Mrs. Laundry was partners with the prisoner in keeping the hotel, and we had wine together at Tattersall’s Hotel. Sub-Inspector Medley applied for a remand, refused, as there was no more evidence, the case was dismissed.
Source: Gulgong Guardian, Issue No 72, 24 April 1872

1874 - Wanted 
A Good Female Cook. Apply to Mrs. Hunter, ALBION HOTEL.
Source: Gulgong Evening Argus, 30 May 1872

1874 - Police Court 
Jarvis v Mullens and Cross, an application had been put in by Mr. Johnson for the defendants for a postponement for one week. Mr. Cory for the complainant, opposed the postponement, alleging that the action arose out of for rent of a public house in lower Herbert Street, the Albion Hotel and that this client would be liable to loss if the matter was put off. It was finally arranged that the case should be heard on Tuesday next.
Source: Gulgong Evening Argus, 20 June 1874

1874 - Mr. Medley 
A very successful preliminary meeting of the friends of Mr. Medley was held yesterday evening at Hunter’s Albion Hotel and arrangements were made for the holding of a general meeting to bid a public farewell to that gentleman, in recognition of the invaluable services he has rendered to this community, as head of the police stationed in the district.
Source: Gulgong Evening Argus, 11 August 1874

1874 - Presentation to Mr. Medley
Yesterday afternoon at 4 p.m. there was a goodly muster of the friends of Mr. Sub-Inspector Medley at Hunter’s Albion Hotel, to present him with a testimonial and parting address on his leaving the district for England...
Source: Gulgong Evening Argus, 5 September 1874

1874 - The Streets 
The thoroughfares of Gulgong are capable of a great deal of improvement which might be affected on the cooperation principle at very little cost. If each of the citizens were to give a day’s labour or the equivalent all the stumps would disappear as if by magic and all the ruts and bog-holes would vanish.
In Queen Street, near Mr. Donaldson’s cottage, there is something neat in the shape of quagmires, and a dozen loads of gravel might be very profitably expended in improving the spot. Again, opposite Hunter’s Albion Hotel, there is a very awkward gutter, which requires either covering over a levelling off. Driver of vehicles are apt if going at any speed to be bumped off their seats and flung to the ground and the springs are in constant danger of snapping.
Source: Gulgong Evening Argus, 8 September 1874

1874 - Accident 
Yesterday about midday, as four buggies belonging to a wedding party, were coming in to church from the Home Rule, an accident of a very dangerous character, but happily did not prove serious, occurred to one of the buggies. It as entirely attributable to the abominable gutter left by the road contractors at the crossing of Mayne Street, between Hunter’s Albion Hotel and Mill’s Corner. One of the buggies in making the crossing, bumped so heavily that a lady with a child in her arms was nearly thrown out. The driver being alarmed pulled up short, and the next buggy got entangled with his wheels. An extrication was speedily effected, and the party went on. Some gentlemen standing out side of Mr. Bird’s Chemist Shop perceived that a shaft of one of the buggy was broken, and, fearing an accident called out to the passers-by to stop the horse and the driver to pull up. The latter not being aware of the mishap, went on for a few yards, when the shaft broke, coming in contact with the horse’s leg, made it unmanageable and after a few plunges the vehicle was overturned in a rut and smashed to pieces, the horse tearing off with the broken shafts down the Black Lead
All the occupants of the vehicle were more or less shaken. One lady had her forehead cut and her hand bruised but the bride escaped as did the others—with a few rents in their garments and severe shock. We drew attention long ago to this dangerous crossing and wonder why more accidents do not happen. There was another trap of the same sort near Saunders public house in Mayne Street. It was even worse than Hunter’s. Mr. Scully caused several loads of stones to be laid in the bed of the and gutter, reducing the danger.
Source: Gulgong Evening Argus, 1 October 1874

1875 - [ADVERTISEMENT]
Wanted - A respectable Female Servant. Apply to MRS HUNTER Albion Hotel.
Source: Gulgong Evening Argus, 13 March 1875

1875 - To Let
The House opposite the Belmore Hotel, lately in the occupation of Dr Ewington.
Apply J HUNTER Albion Hotel
Source: Gulgong Evening Argus, 16 March 1875

1875 - Albion Hotel
Corner Herbert & Queen Streets Gulgong
The Proprietor wishes to advised that he has secured the adjoining premises recently know as Nightingale's Hotel. The House is under going most thorough repairs and the hotels will be as one.
JOHN HUNTER Proprietor.
Source: Gulgong Evening Argus, 16 March 1875

1875 - Fire Brigade 
There is to be a meeting this evening at the Albion Hotel of the members of the Fire Brigade. One object is to enrol new members and another to make the organisation more perfect. We should think that every young man would be proud to belong to an association of this kind. Nothing but practice and thorough organisation is required in order to render the town comparatively safe from a general conflagration.
Source: Gulgong Evening Argus, 13 April 1875

1875 - Progress Committee 
Meeting will be held this evening at the Albion Hotel at 8 pm. J F Plunkett. Hon Sec.
Source: Gulgong Evening Argus, 20 April 1875

1875 - The Town 
The arrival of race horses, the circus and the persons who usually accompany these at the time of our annual races caused quite a stir in the town last evening. It was particularly lively about ‘the corner.’ The billiard rooms at the Albion were thronged to late hour and the lovers of the cue had a fine ‘go in.’ The effect did not reach much beyond the corner, soon after twelve o’clock everything was as quiet as usual.
Source: Gulgong Evening Argus, 6 May 1875


1875 - [ADVERTISEMENT]
TO COMMERCIAL GENTLEMEN AND OTHER PARTIES VISITING THE DISTRICT. ALBION HOTEL, GULGONG. The PROPRIETOR, having secured what was formerly known as NIGHTINGALE'S AND TUCKERMAN'S HOTEL, and added the premises to his own, the whole has been Remodled and Refitted throughout, and he begs to inform parties visiting GULGONG, and the public generally, that he is now in a position to ACCOMMODATE Customers in a style equal to anything in the Western district.
There are THREE first-class BILLIARD TABLES on the premises. The BAR is supplied with the choicest WINES and SPIRITS. The DINING TABLES are provided with every LUXURY. There is also a large SAMPLE ROOM for the use of Commercial Gentlemen.
The Stabling accommodation is unsurpassed in Gulgong. CAREFUL Grooms always in attendance.
The ALBION HOTEL is most centrally situated at the corner of Herbert and Queen streets, and the Proprietor solicits the favour and patronage of his friends and the public
JOHN HUNTER, Proprietor.

1875 - Dentistry 
Mr Adolph Gabriel from Sydney, will be at the Albion Hotel on Monday and Tuesday next, when all persons suffering from decayed teeth may obtain immediate relief.
Source: Gulgong Evening Argus, 29 May 1875

1875 - Removal 
We have been requested to notify that Dr Bennett has moved his consulting room to Mr Hunter’s Albion Hotel.
Source: Gulgong Evening Argus, 13 July 1875

1875 - Death 
On Tuesday, August 3rd, at her residence, suddenly JANE WILLIAMS [late JANE READY] of the Albion Hotel, Herbert Street, Gulgong.
Source: Gulgong Evening Argus, 5 August 1875
[Note: Jane Elizabeth Ready arrived in Australia around 1868. She married William Williams in Gulgong in 1873 (NSW BDM 3178/1873). Two years later, aged 37, she died from "hypertrophy of the heart". Her father was an army captain named Gordon ___. One son, from a previous marriage, was named Randolph Ready.]

1875 - Town Improvements
Notwithstanding the seeming depression in mining and general business there have been many improvements made in the town that deserve mention... 
At the Albion, Mr. Hunter continues to improve his premises and has recently made an important addition on the side fronting Herbert Street and also by putting up a new and capacious stable in the rear.
Source: Gulgong Evening Argus, 12 August 1875

1875 - [ADVERTISEMENT]
Wanted A Billiard Marker. Apply to the Albion Hotel
Source: Gulgong Evening Argus, 1 December 1875

1875 - [ADVERTISEMENT]
Wanted during the Holidays - 40,000 Men to drink Castlemaine and British Beer. HUNTER’S Albion Hotel
Source: Gulgong Evening Argus, 18 December 1875

1875 - First Day of the Christmas Races 
Good order was maintained during the meeting and the several events were well contested. Host Hunter of the Albion, presided at the Grandstand Booth, supplying is his numerous customers with all necessary liquors until they wended their way home after the last race.
Source: Gulgong Evening Argus, 29 December 1875

1876 - [ADVERTISEMENT]
Wanted A Good Man to COOK. Apply to J HUNTER, Albion Hotel
Source: Gulgong Evening Argus, 22 April 1876

1876 - Prospecting Association 
A preliminary meeting of the members of the above association was held on Monday evening at Hunter’s Albion Hotel. Mr Binder in the chair, the object of the meeting to hear the report of the gentlemen appointed to canvass the town for subscriptions. Canvassers were Messrs Hunter, Wesley, O’Neill and Marshall, the some of 6 pound 5 shillings has been promised per week for three months. Mr Hunter suggested that the meetings be held in rooms separate to hotels. Messrs Wesley and Ward waited upon Mr Scully who promised the use free of one of his rooms in Queen Street.
Source: Gulgong Evening Argus, 3 May 1876

1876 - [ADVERTISEMENT]
Dr Ramsay maybe consulted at Hunter’s Albion Hotel.
Source: Gulgong Evening Argus, 28 June 1876

1876 - [ADVERTISEMENT]
Wanted - A Good Female General Servant. Apply to MRS HUNTER Albion Hotel.
Source: Gulgong Evening Argus, 7 October 1876

1876 - [ADVERTISEMENT]
TO LET
The ALBION HOTEL,
corner of Queen and Herbert street,
GULGONG,
containing over 200 feet frontage.

J. HUNTER, having determined upon leaving the district, is prepared to arrange with a responsible party, willing to rent the above. It is almost needless to expatiate on the advantages of this establishment, it being situated in the very BEST POSITION IN THE TOWN, and has, and will always command, the Best trade. To an energetic man this is a splendid opportunity for entering into business.
THE HOUSE, having been specially constructed for the purpose, is unsurpassed in Gulgong in every respect as a FAMILY and COMMERCIAL HOTEL. The town and country connection to this establishment is sufficient to recommend it to those in search of a really FIRST-CLASS INVESTMENT. THE HOTEL contains a splendid bar, fitted with every, requisite; billiard room, second to none in the district, with one of Alcock's best tables; large room for public meetings, and private rooms for societies and companies; parlours and sitting rooms; private and public dining rooms: 15 bedrooms, three of which are upon a second story, the FRONTAGE having a neat VERANDAH.
There is a newly-erected detached kitchen, with range and every other convenience; good stabling; large, open, healthy yard; four tanks, capable of holding 6000 gallons. The whole of the buildings being covered with corrugated iron, with spouting, gives a permanent supply of water during the year.
The premises will be let for a term, subject to agreement. For particulars apply to
J. HUNTER, Proprietor.
Source: GULGONG EVENING ARGUS - Saturday December 2 1876


1895 - [NEW WAREHOUSE]
Mr. C. R. Young, of the Commercial Warehouse, has invited tenders for 120,000 bricks wherewith to build a new warehouse on the ground lately occupied by the Albion Hotel. This means employment for a number of our local tradesmen.

Saturday, October 23, 2021

JOHN HUNTER


Hunter & Co. Boot & Shoe Bazaar, 1872
(north-east corner of Herbert & Mayne Streets, Gulgong)
Source: SLNSW

The Herbert Street frontage is the longer side of the shop. John Hunter owner. [Possibly Mr. Jury third from left in light clothes.]

Hunter & Co. Boot & Shoe Bazaar, 1872
Source: SLNSW

In 1874 Hunter turned the shop into the Albion Hotel and moved his boot shop to the shop next door, formerly the Crystal Fountain. The following year 1875, he purchased Nightingale's Hotel [formerly Tuckerman's Hotel] and amalgamated the two hotels into a new two-storied Albion. He remained as licensee until 1877.

Later Christopher Young, who had a business next door, purchased the hotel and rebuilt it as his Commercial Warehouse in 1885. The building still stands [Loneragans/IGA] as an icon in Gulgong. 
Source: Information supplied by Baldwin & Davis, Research Gulgong (July 2006).

Transfer to C R Young in 1891
Source: HLRV

"Writers Rest", 75 Herbert Street, Gulgong
Source: Darren Michael

Another of John Hunter's Gulgong properties was 75 Herbert Street. The picture above shows windows full of bottles. The left window has the words "Writers Retreat" on the glass. John Hunter was listed on an 1877 map of Gulgong as the owner. In 1886 he had a mortgage with the Union Bank of Australia which was discharged in 1889. In 1896 the property transferred to William Wesley of West Wyalong, a produce dealer, and in 1901 to his widow, Bridget Wesley. Bridget transferred the property to Alfred William Wood of Gulgong, a butcher. His mortgage of 1901 with the Bank of NSW was discharged in 1902. In 1902 Wood held a mortgage with C R Reid, by then a retired merchant having sold his large store uphill on Herbert Street to Jas Loneragan.
CR Young transferred the property to Charles Augustus Russell and Albert Ernest Russell, storekeepers of Gulgong. Two months' later the Russell brothers transferred the property to Jane Anderson of Munghorn, Cooyal, who undertook a mortgage with them. In 1908 the Russell brothers transferred the mortgage to Edward McCulloch of Gulgong, Auctioneer, Robert William Heard of Gulgong, saddler and Albert Ernest Brigden.
Source: HLRV

 John Hunter
John Hunter, 1842-1921

NEWS ITEMS

1877 - MUNICIPALITY OF GULGONG.
NOTICE is hereby given, that Mr. Christopher Reid Young has been elected an Alderman of the above Municipality, to supply the Extraordinary Vacancy caused by Mr. John Hunter permanently leaving the district. R. N. COLLINS, Mayor.

1877 - The City Boot Palace.
Under this title the northern one of the new Waterloo Buildings shops has now been open a fortnight, and the Sydney public have had a fair opportunity of examining the internal arrangements as well as the quality of the contents. The outside of the new emporium has a most imposing appearance, such a blaze of light as burst forth suddenly on the first opening night having been quite enough to startle the passers-by in that part of George-street so long shrouded in gloom, and within the fittings are so elaborate, and the stock of goods so well chosen, handsome, and extensive as to continue the hold on the public that was commenced on first acquaintance.
Mr. John Hunter, proprietor of this new establishment, has for the last fifteen or sixteen years been well-known in the Southern and Western districts, as the purveyor of boots to the dwellers in the districts of Young and Gulgong, and while he has been thoroughly successful in satisfying the wants of the hard-working miner, his boots for the promenade and the ballroom have been all they should be and his prices within reach of the 'poor man.' Having had a good look through the present stock, we are in a position to say no effort has been spared to suit every class of customer.

1892 - EMPLOYEES
About eighteen years ago Mr. John Hunter left Gulgong and started a boot shop in Sydney. Today he has, in New South Wales, alone, 3000 men engaged in the boot trade.

1899 - In Days Gone By.
An old Gulgongite was in Mudgee on Wednesday in the person of Mr. Alec. Johnson, now of Genowlan. In the good times of the famous goldfield Mr. Johnson was manager of John Hunter's boot store in Gulgong. He is well, and was welcomed by many old friends.

1915 - HIS BUSINESS GENESIS.
In the palmy days of Gulgong, when there were something like 20 000 or 30 000 people located thereabouts, Mr. John Hunter ran a bootshop on a large scale in that town. Later on he built and ran the Albion Hotel, which occupied a site upon which the big store of Messrs. Loneragan, Ltd., now stands. For a considerable time Mr. Hunter directed the fortunes of the house of accommodation, and after leaving it his brother, Mr. W. Hunter, took charge.
This same John Hunter is now the biggest bootman in the State, if not in Australia. He has branches of his wonderful business all over the city and in most of the larger country towns. He was located in Gulgong for a good number of years before he conceived the idea of becoming a boot king. Some of the old hands will remember him very well.

John Hunter wholesale store at 47 York-street, Sydney, 1900


John Hunter's Boot Factory, 1912


1921 - MR. JOHN HUNTER. - DEATH ANNOUNCED. 'WELL-KNOWN' MANUFACTURER.
Mr. John Hunter, founder of the firm of John Hunter and Sons, boot manufacturers, collapsed while in conversation at his residence, Lask, Darling Point-road, Edgecliff, last night. The big footwear factory in Castlereagh-street, Redfern, opposite the park, and the chain of over 70 retail establishments stretching through New South Wales and Queensland, which are owned by the firm of John Hunter and Sons are very largely, the product of Mr. Hunter's own energy and business capacity. He is 79 years of age.
Born at Broadstairs, in Kent, the son of a bootmaker of Ramsgate, he came to Australia as a boy, and was still quite young when he commenced business for himself in boots and other retail lines in the Gulgong district.
About 1877 he came to Sydney and established himself in a retail boot business near Market street, removing shortly afterwards to premises still occupied by the firm at the corner of Market and George streets. It is said that he was the first boot retailer in the city to afflx a ticket stating the price to every article of footwear in his shop, and the practice has been adhered to ever since in all the retail establishments of the firm. After opening branch shops at Summer Hill, Leichhardt, and Balmain, Mr. Huntor decided to open a factory, and about the year 1883 acquired that already established by Mr Hilder, at Redfern. He only remained in those premises, however, for a sufficient time to enable him to select a site allowing for greater expansion, and he erected premises fronting Douglas-street, which still form part of the extensive block of buildings which front Castlereagh street, Redfern.

Mr. Hunter had four brothers, who were also prominently interested in the boot trade in Australia, and all of whom have predeceased him. One of them, Mr. James Hunter, built up a large factory in Brisbane, and extended a retail business throughout Queensland, and the whole of those interests were purchased by Mr. John Hunter. Another, Mr. William Hunter, owned a large retail business in Rundle-street, Adelaide. Practically the whole of Mr. Hunter's time was devoted to the organisation and management of his business, and no man could desire to enjoy greater respect and popularity amongst his many employees than he did. 
Mr. Hunter is survived by a widow and, by a former marriage, two sons, Mr. Alex. A. Hunter and Mr. Harold Hunter, both of whom are in the firm, and five married daughters — Mrs. Tout, of Edgecliff; Mrs. Podenzana, of Italy; Mrs. T. Prescott, ot Sydney; Mrs. O'Hare, of Sydney; and Mrs. J. Henderson, of Sydney. Another son, Mr. Sydney Hunter, died some years ago.
Source: The Sydney Morning Herald (NSW : 1842 - 1954) Mon 10 Jan 1921 Page 8

1921 - [REMEMBERED]
John Hunter, the boot king, who died in Sydney last week, rose from small beginnings. With his father the deceased started in the boot business at Young in the days of the diggings. When the Young branch of the boot firm was on a sound footing, Mr. Hunter himself went to Gulgong diggings, thence off to Sydney and started there. The big footwear factory in Castlereagh Street, Redfern, opposite the park, and the chain of over 70 retail establishments stretching through New South Wales and Queensland are very largely the product of Mr. Hunter's own energy and business capacity.
Source: The Richmond River Herald and Northern Districts Advertiser (NSW : 1886 - 1942) Tue 18 Jan 1921 Page 2

1921 - THE LATE MR. J. HUNTER - End of a Great Business Career
'Just let me know the policy of the country and I will suit myself to it,' was an expression used by Mr. John Hunter, whose death chanced so suddenly a few days ago in Sydney. He was a footwear manufacturer and importer. He manufactured largely, in a big establishment he erected at Redfern. He had shops all over Australia. Mr. Hunter was the first man to label boots 'made in Sydney,' and to attach plain figure prices on his wares.
Born in England. 
He was born in Kent, in 1843, and came to Australia in 1865. He was not originally in the shoe trade, but he soon got into it, his first shops being opened up the country — at Lambing Flat — now known as Young, and at the gold diggings, where he went on arriving in New South Wales.
The industrial progress of Sydney and New South Wales owe much to John Hunter. The small beginnings at Lamb Ing Flat have almost been lost sight of, but they are worthy of recall, he did well there — so long as gold was found.
Later he established businesses at Forbes, Grenfell and Gulgong. Footwear then was nearly all imported. Mr. Hunter resolved to come to Sydney in 1878 to manufacture boots and shoes.
His son, Mr. A. A. Hunter, is successor to his father, and is much respected and liked in social, commercial and recreative circles. The firm has extended its energies, and nowadays buyers scour the world's marts East and West.
John Hunter will be remembered not only as a great captain of industry, but also for his great qualities of heart and the human kindness of the man.
The Gondola.
Many will remember about 10 years ago a graceful craft that used to ply on the waters of the harbor, a fine specimen of a Venetian gondola. This had originally been intended for the Paris Exhibition. John Hunter bought the vessel, but some transport difficulties arose about transporting her to Australia.
The P. and O. Company wouldn't handle her because she was too bulky. Hunter acted with characteristic decision. He gave orders for the gondola to be cut in four pieces and packed in cases. Skilled workmen who had labored on it with loving care were horrified, but the order was executed, and the gondola eventually reached Sydney, where it was put together again and used for years as a pleasure craft by the family until about 10 years ago it was sold to some water carnival promoters at Mosman.
Black and White Suits.
Years ago, when John Hunter had a store up country, a well-respected inhabitant of the district died. Her friends came to Hunter's store to buy dark clothes for the funeral, and he sold out his entire stock. Presently there arrived on the scene other contingents from neighboring hamlets, who all wished to show their respect for the old lady by attending her funeral. They wanted black suits, too. John Hunter had none to sell, but he convinced his clients that for so old a lady as the deceased white clothes were 'de rigeur,' and sold out all his white apparel also.
The day after the funeral the 'whites' trooped into Hunter's store to demand an explanation. He met them imperturbably, and pointed out that whereas the owners of black suits could seldom wear them, those fortunate enough to get white suits would have nice garments suitable for everyday wear, and that really they had nothing to grumble about. The explanation was satisfactory.
He had a faculty for looking ahead. Before the 1893 bank smashes, John Hunter had scented trouble, and had withdrawn £17,000 in sovereigns, which he put in the Safe Deposit vaults.
Take Your Pick !
An earlier generation — about the time of the early eighties — will remember a warehouse back of where Hordern Bros. now is. There was a fire here. It was rather a novel sight afterwards, we are told, to see firemen with pitchforks filling drays with salvaged boots to be taken away.
Boots were imported, at about this time, in cases, 48 pairs in a case. They were rushed up from the ship to the store and were emptied out on the floor — all shapes and sizes. Customers of that period were invited to pick out their own pairs, and the firm then obligingly provided paper and string to tie up their purchases.
Finish.
The last scene of Mr. Hunter's life was at his home, talking with one of his departmental heads. The subject of the conversation was the importation of German goods, which distressed John Hunter. 'What? — buy German goods? It's Impossible! What would the boys (meaning the soldiers) think if I did?' Those were his last words, and, without warning, he clutched at his breast and fell back dead.
John Hunter has left Australia a living lesson and erected an enduring memorial that all Australians would do well to learn and ponder on. He died as he would have wished, in harness and with his boots on, man every inch of him, and a gentleman, too.
Source: Sunday Times (Sydney, NSW : 1895 - 1930) Sun 16 Jan 1921 Page 5